Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings Review

  • Where the Sidewalk Ends turns forty! Celebrate with this anniversary edition that features an eye-catching commemorative red sticker. This classic poetry collection, which is both outrageously funny and profound, has been the most beloved of Shel Silverstein’s poetry books for generations.
  • Where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein’s world begins. There you’ll meet a boy who turns into a TV set and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.
  • Shel Silverstein’s masterful collection of poems and drawings is one of Parent & Child magazine’s 100 Greatest Books for Kids. School Library Journal said, “Silverstein has an excellent sense of rhythm and rhyme and a good ear for alliteration and assonance that make these poems a pleasure to read aloud.”
  • Shel Silverstein’s incomparable career as a children’s book author and illustrator began with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. In 1964, Shel’s creativity continued to flourish as four more books were published in the same year—Don’t Bump the Glump!, A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, and the beloved classic The Giving Tree. Later he continued to build his remarkable body of work with Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and Runny Babbit.

    Check Out What Readers Said about Kindle/eBook!

    “One of the best books of all time — What more needs to be said? This is truly the most memorable book of my childhood. Smile after smile …. memory after memory. I agree with the reviewer here who says that “No child should grow up without this book!” … It’s fun to read, and makes some really good points about life!! Definitely a MUST HAVE at ANY age!!! Enjoy!” By S. Ralston
    “I remember this book in the second grade! Wow, that was a long time ago. I remember enjoying the poems very much. Well, I stumbled upon this book a few weeks ago and decided to read them again. It had been quite some time. I still enjoyed it just as much as when I was little, if not more. “Where the Sidewalk Ends” is a literary treat for all ages.” By Michael Crane

GET eBook Now

Product Details

Author: Shel Silverstein
Kindle Price: Hardcover $11.29 Paperback from $49.89 Audio CD from $80.00
Age Range: 6 – 8 years
Grade Level: 1 – 3
Lexile Measure: NP (What’s this?)
Hardcover: 176 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins; 1st edition (February 18, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0060256680
ISBN-13: 978-0060256685
ASIN: 0060256672
Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 0.9 x 8.8 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars See all reviews (1,425 customer reviews)
Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #264 in Books

 

soft magic Review

  • soft magic.’ is the debut collection of prose and poetry by Malawian writer, Upile Chisala. This book explores the self, joy, blackness, gender, matters of the heart, the experience of Diaspora, spirituality and most of all, how we survive. ‘soft magic.’ is a shared healing journey.

Check Out What Readers Said about Kindle/eBook!

“In the tradition of Nayyirah Waheed and Warsan Shire, Upile Chisala’s debut is a collection of moving poetry that touches on subjects such as race and gender. Chisala’s writing is raw emotion, she has very obviously poured her heart and soul in to this collection and reading it was a pleasure. I strongly recommend this book to those who enjoy poetry and are fans of poets such as Nayyirah Waheed and Warsan Shire.” By Ari Tillett

“I loved all the water, war, softness, and magic imagery used. I felt myself bleeding into the words and almost gasped because her strength is reflected in myself. I will treasure so many quotes in this poetry book on what it means to be a dark-skinned African woman and be capable of more love than the world throws at you.” By Amazon Customer

GET eBook Now

Product Details

Author: Upile Chisala
Kindle Price: Paperback $9.35
Paperback: 122 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (September 4, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1516967887
ISBN-13: 978-1516967889
Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.3 x 9 inches
Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #16,075 in Books